To M.R. Gavin, With Love

My Dearest M.R. Gavin,

Please forgive my absence. I’ve been busy writing, reading, and trying to understand the state of the universe. It is an all-encompassing endeavor, as I am sure you can imagine. I was also pooped on by a low-flying pigeon, which, retrospectively, looked rather large and rather magical.

In my recent undertakings and thought experiments, I’ve dwelled on one of my all-time favorite quotes :”The spaceships hung in the sky in much the same way that bricks don’t” (The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy). It seems to me that the current political scene is much like bricks hanging in the sky. They should fall aggressively to the ground, succumbing to the rules of gravity, yet they continue to hang there precariously, threatening to crush us all on our morning commute. Further, to protect us all, I think we should be less concerned with building a wall, and more concerned with constructing a brick-proof forcefield. But thats just a thought.

As for your suggested reasons for my absence, I appreciate your creativity. Number one was relatively accurate. I have been busy exercising my civic duties, and have therefore neglected you. For this, I am truly sorry. Number two could never be true. Much as it pains me to say, I could never truthfully dislike you. You are the wind beneath my wings, the Shaggy to my Scooby, and the person I call when no one else will pick up the phone. As I stated previously, number three may have some merit, but I have no actual proof.Finally, I did not run away, at least no farther than normal. As always, you are more than welcome to visit, and I look forward to finding  you at my doorstep unannounced at 5:30 in the morning.

I would love to write you letters, and it will surely be a good place for political musings, funny stories, and bad puns. I don’t think we should constrain ourselves with a word count, given the enormity of our thoughts and the limit of our schedules. Should you be content with this amendment, I’d be happy to continue letter writing.

Finally, M.R. Gavin, I’d like to leave you with a book recommendation (I might make this a standing part of my letters). This week I read The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid, and I think you’d enjoy it.

Until next time,

M.A. Gavin

 

Leave a Reply

